Defending Champ Carnegie Mellon Leads DIII NCAA National Championship Field at Boulder Creek

A total of 43 teams and 221 participants will compete at the 2024 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships May 14-17 at Boulder Creek Golf Club, in Boulder City, Nevada. The event is hosted by UNLV and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority. The team and individual champions will be determined after 72 holes of play or the conclusion of the last fully completed round. After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams. Rounds will also be played at Legacy Golf Club in Henderson. Photos below courtesy Boulder Creek.


Boulder Creek Golf Club is 27 holes and a local and visitor favorite. The course has a long history of hosting top amateur and professional tournaments, including qualifiers for the PGA Tour’s Shriners Children’s Open.

“With the help and support of the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, throughout this whole process, we secured the event and then have been having regular meetings to make sure that we dot our I’s and cross our T’s and meet the expectations.” said Karl Larcom, Boulder Creek director of golf. “So much goes into a competition of that size and there are so many little details to make sure are perfect. I know our director of agronomy, Byron Hinds, will have the golf course dialed in and ready to go because it always is. Most everything that we are doing is making sure that the players, spectators, coaches, have an experience and that Boulder Creek is the best that it has ever been.”

Carnegie Mellon will be back in the finals to defend the national championship. They won the team title in Nicholasville, Kentucky.

Thirty-four conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final eight berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The six individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team. Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2024 championships:

Conferences Receiving Automatic Qualification Berths (34)
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference – Penn State-Altoona
American Rivers Conference – Luther
American Southwest Conference – LeTourneau
Atlantic East – Marymount (Virginia)
Centennial Conference – Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin – Illinois Wesleyan
Commonwealth Coast Conference – Roger Williams
Empire 8 – St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference – New England College
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference – Rose-Hulman
Landmark Conference –Scranton
Liberty League – Rochester (New York)
Little East – Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference – Springfield
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Hope
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth – York (Pennsylvania)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom – Stevens Institute of Technology
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Bethel (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference – Tufts
North Atlantic Conference – Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference – Kenyon
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference – Aurora
Northwest Conference – Whitman
Ohio Athletic Conference – Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference – Lynchburg
Presidents’ Athletic Conference – Allegheny
Skyline Conference – Farmingdale State
Southern Athletic Association – Oglethorpe
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Redlands
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference – Schreiner
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Mississippi University for Women
United East Conference – Penn College
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference – Wisconsin-Superior
USA South Athletic Conference – Methodist

Pool B Berth (1)

Pool C Berths (8) (Alphabetical by institution name)
Carnegie Mellon
Saint John’s (Minnesota)
University of the South
Washington and Lee

Individuals (6) (Alphabetical by institution name)
Andrew Bennett, Centenary (Louisiana)
Gabe Benson, Concordia-Moorhead
Elliot Parker, Drew
James Alden, Guilford
Avery Stansell, Rhodes
Jacob Mason, Trinity (Texas)