Embry-Riddle Golf Programs Continue CalPac Dominance at Boulder Creek

More college golf champions were crowned at Boulder Creek Golf Club this week with the playing of the California Pacific Conference Golf Championships.  It was a clean sweep as Embry-Riddle won both the men’s and women’s titles.

The school also claimed both low medalist honors with Libby Axen and Tyler Macpherson

For the women’s team, it was the ninth-straight conference title. The Eagles were ranked No. 23 in the NAIA and opened with a huge lead in the first round and lengthened that lead in each ensuing round to sail to the victory. Soka finished second in the tournament, followed by Benedictine Mesa and Cal Maritime.

With the victory, ERAU earns the Cal Pac’s automatic bid to the NAIA Women’s Golf National Championship, which will be held May 23-26 at PC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill.—its ninth straight appearance in the national tournament.

On the men’s side, Embry-Riddle won its third title in a row. The Eagles opened with a two-shot lead over Benedictine Mesa in the first round, pushed it out to nine on the second day, and then posted its best round of the tournament to seal the victory on the Desert Hawk and Coyote Run layout at Boulder Creek. The title was the eighth in the past 10 years, and the men will now move on to the NAIA Men’s Golf National Championship, held at Las Sendas Golf Club in Mesa, Ariz., May 16-19.  Park-Gilbert and Simpson tied for third, followed by Providence Christian and Cal Maritime.

Boulder Creek has become a home away from home for college tournaments and programs. Up next at Boulder Creek is the RMAC conference tournament following by the WAC Golf Championships. In the future, Boulder Creek is scheduled to host the NCAA Division III men’s national golf championship in 2024, the Division II women’s national golf championship in 2025 and the Division II men’s 2026 national championship.


Player of the Year:  Libby Axen (Embry-Riddle)

Maisy Alsen (Embry-Riddle)

Hailey Stevenson (Embry-Riddle)

Kaetlin Halseth (Embry-Riddle)

Hannah Spiller (Embry-Riddle)


Player of the Year:  Tyler Macpherson (Embry-Riddle)

Joseph Allen (Embry-Riddle)

Sabastian Carranza (Benedictine Mesa)

Trevor Lewis (Embry-Riddle)

Jordan Garypie (Embry-Riddle)